“Please Remove Your Shoes” Sign

Standard

In an effort to prevent guests from tracking dirt, mud, grass, sewage, and other debris onto the floor of Andrew’s and my newly purchased home, I made a sign advising our guests to please remove their shoes. It says, “Please Remove Your Shoes.”

Please Remove Your Shoes Sign

I purchased a picture frame from Fred Meyer. I didn’t want the sign to be too large or overbearing, so I got a 3.5″×5″ frame, one of the smallest frames I could find. (I also considered the 5″×5″ frame, which oddly advertised that it can stand vertically or horizontally.)

Black and Clear Signs on Vellum

I cut the letters out of a sheet of black cardstock with my die cutter, arranging it to fit within the picture frame. I lined up the sheet from which I cut out the letters on top of an identically sized sheet of vellum. Then, using the holes in that black cardstock like a stencil, I was able to re-position the letters correctly as I glued them one-by-one onto the vellum. After doing this, I was able to lift off the black cardstock, leaving just the letters behind, leaving me with the sign you see above to the right. I then took that black sheet of cardstock and glued it onto another sheet of vellum, in case I want a darker “background”.

White on Black "Please Remove Your Shoes" Sign

I’m pleased with my decision to use vellum. As it is mostly transparent, it means I can make the sign whatever color or design I choose simply by changing the paper behind it. This will allow me to change the sign to match the occasion. If I’m having a bunch of people over for a Halloween party, I could change the background to candy corn, spider webs, or an eerie full moon. I could even put a photo behind it if I wanted to show off my smiling face. Below is the sign with three backgrounds: butterflies, flowers, and ocean waves.

One response »

Leave a Comment

