3-D Roses Card

Standard

Last week was my grandma’s birthday, so I wanted to make her a card. My grandma likes floral things. Thinking back to some instructions I had seen for making paper roses, I decided to try making a 3-D flower card.

3-D Rose Card

Making paper roses is very simple, but it’s hard to get it perfect. (I didn’t get it perfect.) The link above has more detailed instructions, but pretty much all you have to do is cut a spiral out of paper, and then coil it up, starting from the outside and working your way in. If you use a one-sided print, as I did, you’ll probably want that side to be on the inside of the coil—but I don’t really recommend using a one-sided print, as the outsides of the flowers will be white.

Paper Rose Spirals

A 4″×4″ square of paper will give you a flower about an inch in radius, depending on how thick your spiral is. Getting the flowers to actually stay curled up is a little tricky. I’m sure there’s a better way to do this, but what I did was squirt a drop of glue into the center of the coiled-up rose and hold it together until it dried.

3-D Rose Card Angled

The leaves were fun to make, and I was thrilled with how they turned out. This was very simple: I cut out the basic leaf shape and then folded it in half, lengthwise. Then I did an accordion fold along the length of the leaf; unfolding everything gives you the leaves you see pictured! The stems are simply a long rectangle with a crease running down the middle.

My grandma appreciated the birthday card and she said she wanted to frame it!

Leave a Comment

