Andrew’s Birthday Candle Card

Standard

I threw Andrew a surprise birthday party with my family’s help this weekend. I wanted to make Andrew a handmade birthday card.

A candle in a circle.

Andrew’s early birthday present was a Sizzix Big Kick embossing machine. I used it to emboss a swirly pattern on the purple background paper.

My original plan was not a candle. I originally wanted to do a party hat, as seen in my concept sketch below.

The idea was that the “pom-pom” of the hat would be tiny strips of paper sticking out from behind the hat in all directions. However, this was more difficult than I imagined it would be, and I started to think it might not look that great. So I thought of other birthday-related things I could put in the middle. I’ve done balloons a bit too often. I settled on a candle. As I’d already spent enough time on the card, I wound up just purchasing a candle design from the Silhouette online store.

I also changed the orientation of the card so that I could make the words more prominent.

I used some super glittery cardstock, which I found on clearance at Hobby Lobby, for the candle’s flame. When the light hits it just right, it glows very bright.

Leave a Comment

