Raccoon with Cupcake

Standard

Raccoons used to visit our back porch and my mom would feed them. My mom absolutely loooves raccoons. She says she has a picture from her youth of herself swimming in a pool with a raccoon. Odd.

So I made her a birthday card with a raccoon on it!

A card of a raccoon holding a birthday cupcake

I didn’t try to draw the raccoon myself. I found a raccoon picture online. This was before I bought my die-cutter, so I printed out the picture and used some carbon paper to transfer the design onto the gray and black paper, by tracing it. In all honesty, tracing the raccoon wasn’t very rewarding, and I began wishing I’d tried drawing one myself. The little starburst on the top of his hat was made with a flowery paper punch.

The raccoon alone consists of 17 individual pieces, not counting the cupcake or hat. This is a tedious number of pieces to work with. Be sure to plan out what order you’ll be gluing the down the pieces before you start! I forgot the ears until after I already glued the raccoon onto the white background and had to pry the head up a little to stick them in.

The original picture I copied didn’t have a cupcake. It was just a raccoon standing there, and it needed a little more action, and a little more cuteness. So I drew a cupcake and cut it out. I think it made all the difference. It looks like the raccoon might be offering you a cupcake! And I like googly eyes, so I glued some of those on as well.

One response »

  1. ‘I forgot the ears until after I already glued the raccoon onto the white background and had to pry the head up a little to stick them in.’ – I can afford to laugh out loud here, cuz it wasn’t me!! Else I know what it means to be there 🙂
    Nice one -am sure ur mom luved it 🙂

Leave a Comment

